My Blogging Experience (For MC 4381)

Hi all,

This post is solely for my MC 4381 class, so feel free to ignore if you wish. Or not, if you’re interested in reading.

Over the past couple of months, I’ve found that this assignment has become less like homework and a lot more like a hobby. Then again, this is coming from someone who’s been blogging (via Tumblr) for some time now, so maybe that’s just me. I don’t know. It also helps that my topic, Astrology, is something that I’m genuinely interested in. I can talk about Astrology for hours, and that’s likely just me going over what each of the signs are/means. It’s great to finally have an outlet and a platform for all of that information to come out, and for others interested to come seek me out!

Having tags and linking to other websites were tools that definitely helped me out. In two of my posts, I linked a few BuzzFeed videos that got me a couple more views than the others. And then there was one “Tumblr-famous” blog–meaning a blog with likely 1,000+ followers–linked me in one of their posts, and suddenly my views skyrocketed.

Look at that jump!

Look at that jump!

I never really used the categories tool, but I might in the future. But as for tools that were “not useful”…I suppose the excerpt tool, only because it seems like the excerpt tool is kind of the same thing as typing a little bit and adding a “read more” link, which is like what I did at the beginning of this post. So the tool itself seems a bit unnecessary.

I plan to continue this blog, so to improve it, I will likely start organizing posts using categories, probably start having a few interactive pages, and maybe even start posting more vlogs if this takes off the way I hope it will. I truly think that having a blog like this will benefit me in the future because it will show that I’m reaching out to connect with others, whether they share the same interests or not. It shows that I love exploring new information and sharing that information amongst the masses.

I would love to have my own blogging website, so maybe this could be it? I don’t know. But it’s definitely a start, don’t you think? I could easily implement these tools that I’ve used to broaden my own horizons and spread the word out to people. Our world is becoming a lot more digital-oriented, so why not get a head start and start blogging the news?

As I’ve mentioned before, this is not the end, so fear not! I will still be updating this blog with new information.

But as for MC 4381, otherwise known as my beloved #FDOM15 class, goodbye (for now)!

image courtesy of allkpop

See you next time!

–Jessy

Leave a comment